26 Nov 08 My Personal Twitter Revolution…

 

I have “had” a twitter account for a little over a year. During that time I tried to use Twitter at Handheld Learning 2007 and 2008, but never really “got it”!

Now I do. And how did this revolution come about?

I was privalidged to attend the ReLIVE08 conference at the Open University. During this conference there was an open pannel debate session involving Roo Reynolds (BBC), Bill Thompson (freelance journalist), Claudia “Linden” (Second Life) and Edward Castronova (Economist). Pre-prepared questions were asked of the pannel BUT I was luck enough to be using a laptop to collate a set of personal wiki notes and I also installed TweetDeck (having seen it in action on a collague’s (Carol) laptop.

Throughout the whole 1.5 hour session there was a constant Twitter stream from attendees AND those watching the live TV feeds remotely. This was monitored by the chair and two of the pannel, they also contributed to the tweets as well as actually sharing them with the audience by presenting peopl’e questions and views.

Since the conference I have started following Bill and Roo’s tweets and they have proved to be adictive!

Edward Castronova told the assembled throng that he has no longer “doing” social networking – he had become adicted – and now I’m beginning to understand how…

As to Twitter -I get it, I can NOW see value, BUT I don’t post! – I don’t have anything important enough to say for people to be posting! nick_rvsm

Leave a comment